Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins

Standard

I love baking.  And I love making jam.  Yesterday I made my first batch of jam of the season (strawberry, and so good) and had some strawberries left over.  I should have had enough to make two batches of jam, but the kids got into them and ate more than I’d counted on.  So, I was left with what to do with left over strawberries.  I was toying with the idea of making these strawberry cupcakes, but decided this morning that I’d rather have muffins.

strawberry muffin

I pulled out my trusty Better Homes and Gardens Red Checker Cook Book (the one my mom and grandmother have counted on for years, though mine is somewhat newer) and looked up muffins.  One of the things that I love about their muffin recipe is that its not very sweet (its a real muffin, not a cupcake) and it’s versatile, allowing you to add all sorts of things to them.  Last summer I made up a batch with fresh peaches in them when I got a surplus of peaches that needed to be used (yes, I made jam).  I made the oatmeal variation and added the strawberries to it.  So good.  I put my muffins in wrappers instead of using my silicon muffin pan and just popping them out because I had a batch of bath fizzies drying in it.  I still think they turned out really good.

Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins
adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup cooking oil
1/2 to 3/4 cup chopped strawberries

  1. Turn oven to 400 degrees, grease or line 12 muffin cups (though I only got 11).
  2. Combine flour, oatmeal, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Make a well in center of ingredients, set aside.
  3. Combine egg, milk and oil.  Add to the dry ingredients.
  4. Mix until just moistened, there will be lumps (extra mixing will cause them to be tough).  Add the strawberries and mix until just combined.
  5. Spoon into prepared muffin cups.  (I use a large ice cream scoop that fills up my muffin cups almost perfectly, I also use it to portion out cupcakes.)
  6. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Best if eaten warm.

all the muffins

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my cupcakes.  Next time I promise to use a dishtowel with less lint to take my pictures on.  Maybe next time I’ll share the jam I made, because it was amazing.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Cupcakes!” | studentmamacook

Leave a Reply

