Summer Cleaning? Yes, Please

Standard

I’ve a good friend who has a cleaning blog for lack of a better word.  Now, cleaning, not really my thing other than making sure my kitchen and table are clean enough to cook and craft, but she’s inspired me.  She has started a summer cleaning challenge  and I have decided to take part.  First step, clean up your shoes.

I didn’t take a before picture, because that would have been frighting.  Indeed, it is still a work in progress.  SO, there might not be a picture.

First thing I did was pull all my shoes out of the closet.  I started by matching up the shoes and pulling out the ones that didn’t fit my kids any more.  There was an insane amount.  I hadn’t realized I’d kept a hold of so many.  Seriously, I did this less than six months ago, and I still had at least 5 pair.  Of course, as my daughter went and grew two sizes this winter, that was to be expected.

Next thing I did was to pull out all the shoes that I didn’t wear.  These ran the gambit from shoes that I just didn’t wear any more, to ones that didn’t fit right, to ones that i had too many of (I decided I really didn’t need five pair of black heels).  Then I started putting them up.

I have an over the door shoe organizer, but that filled up very quickly.  Once that was all full up I started sitting them in rows on the floor.  I can manage two rows of shoes in my closet.  If my feet weren’t so big I might be able to fit a few more.  There are the shoes that would never fit in an over the door organizer (like my cowboy boots and Ughs)  that will have to go on the floor, but the staggering number that wouldn’t fit was amazing.  I didn’t realize I had that many shoes.

I ended up having to double stack several pairs, which isn’t very good when the shoes in question have 4 inch heels.  I then decided that I needed a shoe shelf.

Mine probably wont be quite that nice though.  I’ve been looking at some nice fake wood ones at Target in a dark word color.  I figure that way it wont show the dirt as much. Of course, I’ve got to wait until I have the money for it, so my shoes will have to remain only partially organized for the near future, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

Stay tuned next week for another summer cleaning task, we shall see how we do 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…. YAY! I’m so excited that you did this :). I’m working on mine and will post pics Friday 🙂

    • I couldn’t pass up the challenge, and it really needed done. Like I said, even though I’d cleaned out my kids shoes less than 6 months ago, you couldn’t tell. And I haven’t been through mine since my daughter was born 4 and a half years ago (oh, wow, I feel old.) Just keep them coming and I’ll do them 🙂

Leave a Reply

