Frozen Peach Smoothy

Standard

Today is the second day of summer vacation and all ready the kids are complaining about being bored and hungry.  Now, I don’t starve my children by any means, today for lunch they had chicken noddle soup, Oreos and milk, but when they’re bored they are apparently starving.  So, the question is, how can I satisfy both problems?  Well cook something, of course!

Ok, so cooking’s not quite the right word for it, but it works.

Last summer, or early fall almost really, I had a plethora of peaches.  I made jam, of course, and bottled some up.  But I also froze some, and that was the inspiration for today. I recently inherited a blender from my parents and have wanted to use it, and this was the chance.  There’s not really a recipe to follow, so much as a technique that I used.

I used my slightly defrosted frozen peaches, milk, honey and some made from concentrate peach/mango/strawberry juice (it’s cheaper than the premixed stuff that’s from concentrate anyway).  If your frozen fruit is pre-sweetened you don’t need honey.  I almost used corn syrup, but Bud insisted that I use the honey when he found it in the wrong cupboard (why it was with the cans of tuna and boxes of Hamburger Helper I’ll never know).

My peaches were frozen in two cup increments, so that’s how much I had.  I added probably 2 tablespoons of honey, and 1/2 to 2/3 cup of each the milk and the juice.  I just dumped it all in my blender and whirred away.  I had to stop once and break up some rather large peach chunks by hand, but after that I didn’t have a problem.  I added another splash of juice and milk towards the end to loosen it up a bit more, but that was it.

I think its safe to say that any combination of fruit, juice and dairy would produce an equally creamy rich smoothy.  It made the perfect amount, 3 zoo glasses full (the only cups that I have enough of that are all the same size.  As my children are 4 and 8, this is very important).

The kids loved it, they both thought it was great, if a bit cold.

Bud wanted to show off his peach smoothy mustache, which he thought was awesome and cool.  And when both the kids came running that they were cold and needed something warm I sent them outside to play where summer seems to finally have arrived (about a month late) with temperatures near the 90’s.

Will this last for long?  No, probably not.  Bud’s already come back inside telling me that no one else is outside to play with, despite the fact that Boo’s out there, so we might have to find some more things for them to do so I can write about how Leonardo da Vinci is important to psychology, but it was fun while it lasted, and those were darned good smoothies.

4 responses »

  1. Love smoothies! I only have one and she’s bored all the time, plus reminds my husband and I that we NEVER play with her. Ugh! At least she’s at daycare while I’m at work during the summer and she’s still in school for one more week.
    Karen

  2. My kids have been out for just over a week. It’s going to be a long summer with me taking classes and my mom running ‘school’ for them when she’s watching them. But smoothies make everything better 🙂

Leave a Reply

