Oatmeal Cookie Muffins

Standard

About a week ago I ran across this blog post about Oatmeal Cookie Cupcakes. I thought they looked amazing.  There were some parts of the recipe that I didn’t care for (like the funky measurements) so i went back to the original recipe on Martha Stewart’s website.  I changed a few things in it, but basically I kept it the same.  I baked these the other night and then took my kids to a movie in the park thinking that I would frost them with the brown sugar frosting that was recommended, but that didn’t happen.  Something in the park (I’m guessing the trees) didn’t agree with me and I’ve been dealing with horrid allergies since then.  Having no desire to cook breakfast for the kids on Saturday I told them to just eat the muffins, and when I had one myself decided that they were much more like muffins than cupcakes.  They’re a little denser and not as sweet as you’d think of a cupcake.  But they do taste like an oatmeal cookie, so they live up to their name.  If I make this again I’m going to do the frosting, or perhaps, skip the frosting and use butterscotch chips.  Still, the way they are is just fine, and good, and I think I’m going to have another one right now.

Oatmeal Cookie Muffins

3 3/4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup oat bran
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line 3 standard 12-cup muffin tins with paper liners; set aside. (Actually, I only got 2 and a half pans full of cupcakes, but I tend to fill my cups a bit full).

  • Beat butter and sugars until pale and fluffy, like you would for cookies. Mix in eggs, 1 at a time, and vanilla.  Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

  • Mix in sour cream. Batter will resemble wet cookie batter, but should be rather stiff.

  • Use your trusty ice cream scoop (or disher if you are lucky enough to have one) to fill up the prepared muffin cups. I filled mine about 3/4’s full, but I tend to over fill.

  • Bake until golden and a cake tester inserted into centers comes out clean, 18 to 20 minutes. If you’re cooking on more than one rack I suggest rotating them half way through for even baking.

  • Transfer to wire racks; let cool completely. Cupcakes can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 3 days.

The kids loved them, Boo ate 3 of them for breakfast and another one after lunch.  I really liked them.  Only thing that would have made it better would be a tall glass of ice cold milk.

8 responses »

  1. I need to try these! Do you think they would taste better with raisins? I love oatmeal raisin cookies. What if you added a streusel topping for added crunch and flavor?
    Karen

    • Originally they were supposed to be layered with raisins on the bottom and coconut on the top. I don’t care for coconut, and I was out of raisins. I bet it would taste great with the raisins in them. I think if they were frosted you might want to skip the raisins, I was planing on doing the frosting…allergies, I hate them. If you try them, let me know what you think.

  2. These look great!! I will definitely give these a try. So glad that you visited my blog and found something to try! Looking forward to more recipe’s for you. I will be posting a homemade pancake recipe soon – seems like a nice, kid-friendly meal (I know I always loved my mom’s homemade pancakes!).

    -Katherine
    http://pastaandpeonies.com

    • OOOO, pancakes! I love them. My kids love them. I usually cheat and just use the krustez mix, but I’ll try anything once. I’ll keep an eye on it. As soon as I make those brown sugar pound cakes I’ll let you know too, those look really good. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Pingback: Raisin Oatmeal Cookie Muffins « Meeshiesmom's Blog

  4. Pingback: Book Review: “Cupcakes!” | studentmamacook

Leave a Reply

