Roasted Ranch Potatoes

Standard

I’m always trying to find things easy to make for dinner.  Mostly because I don’t have a lot of time, but also because I’m lazy.  I love potatoes, I really do, but I get tired of the same old thing.  Baked, mashed, occasionally fried.  I want something a bit different.

A while back I got a bottle of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix (the powder) at Costco.  I’ve slowly been using it.  And I thought why not use that to flavor the potatoes?

Now, I can’t claim the recipe as mine, it came off the back of the bottle, but I did just kind of eye ball it, so, yeah.  Anyway, here it goes!

Roasted Ranch Potatoes

Potatoes (I used russets, but I think these would also be good with red potatoes or fingerling)
Mild flavored oil (you wouldn’t want something that would over power the ranch flavor)
Ranch dressing powder (like I said, I used Hidden Vally, but I’m sure there are other brands out there that are good too)

  • Cut the potatoes into equal sized chunks.  If they’re small enough you can leave them whole.  It’s important that they’re all about the same size so that they cook evenly.
  • Toss with enough oil to coat.  This will help the seasoning to stick.
  • Toss with enough Ranch dressing to coat thoroughly.  You want to be able to see the flecks of ranch on the potatoes, that way you’ll know you got enough seasoning on them.
  • Place on a cookie sheet that’s been covered with either parchment or aluminum foil (this is for easy clean up and is totally optional). Roast in a 450 degree oven for 35 minutes or until tender.  You can turn them half way through so that they get evenly brown on all sides.

I served them in my lazy way with pre-made frozen Salisbury stakes and caned green beans.  The kids loved the potatoes, because they are meat and potato kids and have rarely met a potato they didn’t like.  The only down side to these is that the oven needs to be so hot for so long.  In the middle of the summer it’s not the best thing, but in the winter I’m sure it would be ok.  If I had a grill I’d see how these would do as a packet, either in aluminum foil or parchment, but I don’t.  If you have one try it out and let me know how it goes.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

