Summer Cleaning-Kitchen

Standard

I’m not even going to bother with pictures this time.  This past week as been hectic as all get out.  I drove my parents and little sister to the airport 2 hours away and had Boo get car sick all over the back seat.  And I got sick and yeah.  SO, this is a few days late, but better late than never.

I’m reporting on the summer cleaning challenge #3, the kitchen.  I started out by going through my food cupboards.  I quickly realized that I had food in every single cupboard in my kitchen.  I wasn’t using most of it because I couldn’t find most of it.  SO, fist task was to get rid of the food that we weren’t eating for one reason or another.  I ended up taking a good amount of food down to the food bank and manage to condense my food to three cupboards.  Now, my kitchen is odd shaped, so three cupboards really isn’t that much.  I’ve got all my canned and boxed food above the counter I usually prepare food on, my over sized boxes ad bags (flower, sugar, rice, oil) in the only cupboard that doesn’t have a second shelf, and my baking stuff (baking soda, spices, coco) in the smallest cupboard.

Next I tackled my pots, pans, and baking dishes.  I’ve always struggled with a way to organize them without having them stacked in random ways and the lips all over the pace and falling out of the cupboard when I open it. Since i moved all my food to different cupboards I was left with an empty shelf in the cupboard with my canning jars.  That seemed to me the perfect place to put all the lids.  I also got ride of several pots and pans that I hadn’t used in pretty much ever.  I’ve got a bunch more room in my cupboard.

I’ll admit, I’ve not gone through the cupboard with my dishes in it yet, I’m scared.  I need to get rid of some because the bowls (mostly glass) are threating to topple out when ever I move anything in the cupboard.  I know I’ll be able to get rid of several that we’re not using.  But that is, sadly, a project for another day.

Next up is the bathroom, that will be easy as I’ve only got the one and keep up on it really good 🙂 tune in next week…or rather the end of this one 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Sorry for the hectic weekend. But you did awesome on your kitchen! I’m very proud of you 🙂 Bathrooms will be easier for me too… we just finished painting one of them and haven’t mess it up yet… now the cabinets in there are different stories… Keep up the good word!!!!!

  2. Awesome job, I’m fortunate to have a pantry and I keep all my food there. No food in the kitchen cabinets and NOTHING kept out on the counters (except the coffee maker)! Space in the kitchen is always a problem, so I feel your pain.
    Karen

    • My apartment isn’t the biggest (though it is good sized for a 2 bedroom) but my kitchen is tiny. I would almost rather have less space in the living room and more in the kitchen. Sadly, most people would rather it the other way, which is why my kitchen is the size of a closet. One day I will live somewhere designed for a cook. Until then i will make due and morn that I don’t have the space to put all the things that I’d like (like the Kitchen Aid mixer I’ve been dreaming about).

Leave a Reply

