“Funfetti” Cupcakes

Standard

I think we’re all familiar with those cakes that come in a blue box:

The other day I had a hankering for cupcakes and pulled the last box of cake mix that I had out of the cupboard, the Funfetti variety.  As i sat mixing them up I realized that they were nothing more than a white cake with sprinkles.  I knew I could do that.

So, i set out to find a vanilla cupcake recipe that I could add sprinkles to.  I had a few requirements.  The recipe had to use whole eggs, I would have nothing to do with extra egg yolks.  And it had to be able to be mixed with my dieing hand mixer (seriously, the think starts to smell funny two minutes in and gets stuck when asked to do more than whip cream).

I finally stumbled upon this blog which lead me to Martha (got to love her) and a recipe for Billy’s Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes. I knew when I saw the recipe that these were going to be the ones. There’s a really good video on the site, from when Billy himself was on the Martha Stewart Show and made the cupcakes.  I watched this, and it was quite informative.  The recipe doesn’t say if the butter should be at room temperature or if it should be cold.  The recipe shows that the butter is pretty soft, so that was nice, especially for my poor dieing mixer.

I chose to frost my cupcakes with cream cheese frosting (also from Martha’s site) because that stands up better to heat.  You see, i decided that instead of torturing my children with my culinary adventure I would torture my entire extended family at my family reunion that took place this past weekend.

The part of the country I live in is hot this time of year (who’s isn’t really) and I didn’t want to run the risk of the frosting melting.  I knew that cream cheese would hold up a bit better on the 2 hour car drive to my grandma’s house than butter cream would.  I also figured they’d hold up better outside for an the hour or so that they were sure to be outside.

“Funfetti” Cupcakes with Billy’s Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes

1 3/4 cups cake flour, not self-rising
1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened, cut into 1-inch cubes
4 large eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Colored sprinkled (the type that you would use on ice cream)

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners; set aside. In a large bowl combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt; mix on low speed with hand mixer until combined. Add butter, mixing until just coated with flour.
  • In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. (I noticed when I was doing this that 4 large whole eggs are about 1 cup, just thought that was interesting.) With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down sides of bowl before each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not over beat.
  • Mix in as many sprinkles as you think are needed.  I used a lot.  The batter looked like this.

  • Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about 2/3 full. They’re not kidding on this.  This recipie should make abotu 30 cupcakes.  I overfilled my liners like I always do to fill up 24 (which is how many will fit in my cupcake pans).  They overflowed really bad in the oven.

  • Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 17 to 20 minutes.
  • Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Cream Cheese Frosting

4 tablespoons room-temperature unsalted butter
4 ounces room-temperature bar cream cheese
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • In a medium bowl, with an electric mixer, beat butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add confectioners’ sugar and vanilla extract; beat until light and fluffy.
Once they were cooled and the frosting made it was easy to frost them.  I decided two cupcakes into frosting that instead of just sprinkling the top of the cupcakes with sprinkles that i was just going to dip the frosted cupcakes into the left over sprinkles.  The container I had was pretty big, so there was room for me to just dunk them in the container they came in, but for sure you could pour the sprinkles into another container.  I filled up two teirs of my three tiered cupcake holder with the cupcakes that I made.
You can see how much better the ones that I dunked in the sprinkles look compared to the ones that I just sprinkled with the sprinkles.
I really liked these cupcakes, they were moist and they were tender, and they weren’t too sweet.  I’m pretty sure every one else liked them too, they were the first desert to dissapier.
I had planned taking a picture of the people at the reunion eating the cupcakes, but seriously I went into the house to get something for my grandma and when I came back the cupcakes were all gone.  So, instead, one more shot of the goods themselves 😉
5 responses »

    • Your girls can’t have sprinkles? That’s horrid! You could always make them without the sprinkles, but I think the fun of these are the sprinkles. I’ll see if I can do up some cupcakes that your girls could eat some time soon.

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Cupcakes!” | studentmamacook

Leave a Reply

