Brown Butter Blueberry Cupcakes

Standard

After my adventures in Blueberry Jam I needed something to do with the extra berries.  Who am I kidding? I just wanted an excuse to try and make some Blueberry Cupcakes.  try as I might to find a recipes on line, I wasn’t able to find one that I really liked.  SO, I decided to adapt me own recipe.

I started by trying to find a browned butter cupcake recipe, and struck out.  Seems browned butter is used more in frosting than cake.  But I love the flavor of browned butter, so I decided, again, just to adapt a recipe.

I perused my cookbook collection and settled on the Yellow Cake recipe in my Red Checkered Cook Book.  I decided that I would brown the butter that the recipe called for and use that in the recipe.  I also added my blueberries muffin style.  Meaning that I left them whole and folded them in at the end.

The frosting I used was the Butter frosting from the same book.  I used my fresh jam in place of the liquid.  I’m not 100% happy with the way the frosting turned out.  My hand mixer is in serious need to being replaced and wouldn’t beet it, so its not as airy and light as I would have liked.  But, it still tasted good.

Brown Butter Blueberry Cupcakes
adapted From Better Homes and Gardens

3/4 cup butter
3 eggs
2 1/2 cup flour
2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cup evaporated milk
2 cups blueberries, more or less to taste

  • Melt butter over medium to low heat until it becomes brown and nutty.  let cool until it hardens slightly, but is still soft.  Mix the flour, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  • Preheat the oven to 375. Line cupcake pans with liners.
  • Beat butter with an electric mixer for about 30 seconds (yes, even with my hopelessly broken electric mixer I was able to use it for this whole recipe, it was an amazing differences). Slowly add the sugar and beat until well mixed and slightly crumbly looking.
  • Add eggs one at time until well mixed.  Beat in the vanilla.
  • Alternately add the flower and the milk, beating well after each addition.  The batter will be light and fluffy looking.
  • Fold in the blueberries with a wooden spoon.  Taking care not to smash them or your batter will be purple if you do.
  • Using your disher, scoop even amounts of batter into each of the cups.  I got just over 24, and since I only have 24 cupcake wholes, I made mine a little fuller than they should have been.  You want them to be just about 2/3 full.
  • Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes.  It might take a bit less, but my oven tends to be a little slow and heats unevenly.
  • Let cook completely before frosting.

The frosting I made was the based on the butter frosting out of my Red Checkered Cookbook, only, I added my blueberry jam instead of the milk.  It really needs a hand mixer or stand mixer to get it fluffy enough, so make sure that you use a mixer.  I didn’t, it was kind of flat.

Blueberry Butter Frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup blueberry jam
Powdered Sugar

  • Mix the butter and jam together until well combined.  Add the powdered sugar slowly until the consistency you like.

I really liked these cupcakes.  They weren’t too sweet, and I really liked the way that the blueberries cooked into the batter.  If I were to make these again I think I would use blueberry pure instead of the jam because the frosting was a bit too sweet.

5 responses »

  1. Too cute! Can I suggest that when adding blueberry, or any fruit, to the batter you reserve 2T of flour and toss them in it before folding in. This prevents the fruit from all falling to the bottom! Also, if you still have blueberries, try making some blueberry zucchini bread!
    Karen

    • I do that when I’m adding chocolate chips, but the batter here was heavy and fluffy enough that it held it up during baking and they didn’t sink. I’ve got about 2 cups of the blueberries frozen in the freezer, I’ll have to see if I can get my hands on some cheep zucchini and give it a try!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “Cupcakes!” | studentmamacook

Leave a Reply

