M&M’s Cookies or Bake Sale Part 1

Standard

A scout at my church is working on his Eagle scout.  His project is making housewarming kits for the womans shelter in town.  They have everything you need that you always forget about when moving to a new home.  To do this he recently held a yard sale/bake sale in the church parking lot.  I decided that it was a perfect opportunity to not only get rid of all the stuff that’s been accumulating because of all the cleaning quests I’ve been doing, AND to bake and not have to eat it all myself. I made m&m’s cookies, brownies with caramel and chocolate chips, and zucchini bread.  I figure I can get some mileage out of this and will post them each separately.

M&M’s Cookies
adapted from “Martha Stewart’s Cookies”

2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup unsalted butter, softened (if you use salted omit the additional salt)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon coarse salt (omit if using salted butter)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 cups plain m&m’s

  • Preheat the oven to 350. Whisk together the flower and baking soda in a small bowl, set aside.
  • Using your hand mixer (or your kitchen aid mixer if you’re lucky enough to have one) cream the butter and sugars together until pale and fluffy.  Add the salt, vanilla and eggs, mix until well blended. Mix in the flour mixture, slowly so you don’t end up with flour all over the kitchen. Mix in the m&m’s by hand.
  • Using your cookie scoop (or your muffin scoop which is what i used here to make them nice and big), scoop them on to a cookie sheet.  These spread a little, but not a ton, so maybe 2 inches apart for the small cookies and three for larger ones. Bake at 350 for 10-20 minutes depending on size.  Make sure to pull them out when they’re still a little soft in the middle.
  • Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before packaging.  If you’re just making them to eat yourself I suggest trying them while still warm with a nice glass of milk.

I hadn’t thought about how I was going to package them up before I made them so I improvised.  I use the fold and close sandwich bags and some blue curling ribbon that I had left over form a birthday present.  I thought they were really good and they went over relativity well at the bake sale.

Next up is going to be the brownie post, then the zucchini bread. We made more using 2 different recipes today.  So that’ll be a packed post.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

