Zucchini Bread Three Ways of Bake Sale Part 3

Standard

‘Tis the time of year for zucchini.  Most sources that you consult will tell you that the vibrant green squash is best picked and eaten when less than eight inches long.  Sadly, most home gardeners don’t realize that.  As such my parents have a friend at church who is trying to unload massive amounts of giant zucchini.  My mom took pity on them and took two off their hands.  And with it I made zucchini bread.  I’ll admit I’d have liked a bit more zucchini flavor, but I the zucchini didn’t have much zucchini flavor, so it is what it is.  I’ve mad three different types of zucchini bread, and sadly only managed pictures of one of them.  But man, were the breads good.

The bread I made came from three different places, my Red Checkered Cook Book, my mom and a blog, and they all turned out well in different ways.

Zucchini Bread 1
adapted from Better Homes and Garden Cookbook

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 beaten egg
1 cup sugar
1 cup finally shredded zucchini
1/4 cup oil

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 8x4x2 inch loaf pan. My pan is bigger than this, it didn’t fill as full as it should have.  SO, if your pan is bigger than the one that the recipe suggests, either double the recipe, or be aware that it’s not going to be a very tall loaf.
  • Whisk together the dry ingredients and set aside.  In another bowl mix together the egg, sugar, zucchini, and oil. Add the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients.  Mix until just moistened, the batter will be slightly lumpy.
  • Pour into prepared pan.  Bake for 50 to 55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

 

Mom’s Recipe Zucchini Bread

2 large eggs
1/3 oil
2/3 cup water
2 cups sugar
2 cups zucchini
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups white flour
1 1/2 cups wheat flour
1/2 cup powdered milk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspo0n baking powder
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon cloves
chocolate chips, craisins, coconut, nuts and other add ins as seen fit.

  • Preheat oven to 325.
  • Combine the oil and water in a blender.  Add zucchini to make 3 cups.  Blend well.  This is important. I know the recipe says 2 cups zucchini, but you might end up using more.  This makes the bread very moist, but you can’t really feel the zucchini in it.
  • Add eggs and blend again.  Pour it into a bowl and combine the dry ingredients, and mix well.
  • At this point you can add nuts, chocolate chips, craisins, or anything else you want.  Put into greased loaf pans and bake until no longer glossy and bounces bake when you touch it. Like is aid above, the problem with recipes from moms and grandmas is that cooking times are all relative.  I’d have to say for this recipe I’d bake it for 45 minutes and check.  Then add 5 to 10 minutes (or less) depending on how goopy it still is.

And finally, the recipe that I actually have pictures of!

Zucchini Bread Again
from Kats’ Kitchen Blog

3 eggs
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups grated zucchini
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 350. Grease two loaf pans.
  • Beat eggs until light and foamy.  Add oil, sugar, vanilla and grated zucchini.  Mix well.
  • Add dry ingredients.  Mix together, it will be lumpy.  Poor half of the batter into one of the pans. Add the chocolate chips to the remaining batter.  Poor into the other pan. Bake at 350 degrees for about one hour, until a toothpick inserted comes out relatively clean.

I only add chocolate chips to half the batter for the same reason I don’t usually eat the zucchini bread that my mom makes.  Not everyone like the same stuff added to their bread.  Me, I’m not a big fan of coconut.  I’ll eat it, but it’s not my favorite.

I’ve been making more jam lately, peach this time around.  I’ve been thinking about making a peach strawberry jam, but I’ve not found a recipe. If any one has one that they think will work, I’d be more than happy to try it out.

Leave a Reply

