Oatmeal Peach Quick Bread

Standard

Ah, peaches!  I love them, they are sweet and juice and just about in season this time of year.  among other uses I have for peaches (eating them and making jam to name a few) I love to bake with them.  i got a few pounds of peaches the other day to make jam with.  And, while i love jam, I wanted to bake too.

I love oatmeal.  Can’t say that I always have though.  When my mom was force feeding us oatmeal for breakfast the whole time i was in elementary school I really didn’t like it.  But, as I’ve grown I came to appreciate it more and more.  I decided that my mom really didn’t know what she was doing with it, it was much too mushy.  I think that’s because she used the instant variety.  Not the best to be eating, but it is quicker, which I suppose is a plus when you’re trying to feed six kids, get them dressed and out of the house at a decent time.

I’ve recently been trying to find a decent oatmeal bread recipe.  A quick oatmeal bread recipe.  I’m too impatient for yeast bread.  You wouldn’t think it would be that hard to find a recipe for oatmeal quick bread, but it is.  I tried all my usual cookbooks, all my usual websites, nothing.  I finally stumbled across this recipe for Oatmeal Quick Bread that promised that it was very much like an oatmeal cookie and I knew I had found the recipe for me.

I made a few changes to the recipe, mainly adding more spice. And the peaches.  Have to have the peaches.  I will say that the bread it best warm, so try to heat it up before you eat it.

 

Oatmeal Peach Bread

1 1/4 cup boiling water
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/2 tsp. salt
2 medium peaches, chopped

  • Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.
  • Combine oatmeal and boiling water in small bowl. Let sit. This lets the oats soften a bit.
  • In a separate bowl beat the sugar and butter together until well blended. Beat in eggs and vanilla. It will look a lot like cookie dough at this point.
  • Add dry ingredients and mix well.  Mix in oatmeal mixture. Add peaches and mix well. Pour into greased loaf pan.
  • Bake at 350 for 50 min-1 hour.   Serve warm!

I enjoy this bread warm, with a little butter on it.  It’s sweet, but the tartness of the peaches balances that out nicely.  Enjoy!

4 responses »

    • I really like how this turned out. I’m never sure how a new recipe is going to come out, but this was really good. I would recommend eating it quickly as it’s not as good on the third day as it is on the first. I think the spices really help with the taste in this. Let me know how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

