Jam Thumb Prints

Standard

I recently decided to make peach strawberry jam, peaches were on sale and I love strawberries, it sounded like a win/win until I realized that I was short a few jars.  With the kids gone for the summer I’ve not been using as much jam as I the kids do when they’re here. So, I opened my fridge and saw the three or so jars of almost empty jam and new what I needed to do. I needed to make jam thumb prints.

The recipe I sued was adapted from my Martha Stewart Cookie Book, It was supposed to have chocolate in the thumb prints, but that’s ok.  The dough was really crumbly, I think it might have been easier to handle had it spent a few minutes in the fridge hardening.  The finished product reminded me of a shortbread, which wasn’t what I had really been wanting, but they were still really good.

Jam Thumb Prints
adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
assorted jams or jellies (I used blueberry, strawberry, and peach)

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Beat the butter, sugar, salt and vanilla until smooth.  Add the flour, beating until combined.
  • Using about 2 teaspoons of dough form balls and place 1 inch apart on the cookie sheet.  I had issues with this as the dough was really crumbly, however, I used my cookie scoop and just kind of packed it together. They weren’t perfect circles, but it worked.
  • Bake 10 minutes. With a blow of cold water (or ice water if you have ice) use your thumb to depress the centers of the cookies, using the water to cool them off.  DO it quick and you wont have to worry about over heating your thumbs.  Continue cooking for another 7 to 9 minutes until just browned around edges. If needed reform the depressions in the cookies.
  • Transfer cookies to a wire rack and cool completely.  When they are cool fill centers with what ever jam or jelly you have on hand.  Store tightly covered in a single layer, or, if you need to stack them, don’t fill with jam until you serve them.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

