To Read or Not to Read: The Movie Question

Standard

I stumbled upon this blog today. The post was about reading, or rather, about not reading. It was about books begin turned into movies and how people are watching these films and not reading the books.

The authors point of view was that books shouldn’t be made into movies (even good movies) because then people stop reading the books.

I tend not to watch movies based on the books I’ve read because ti ruins the story in my head. This is especialyl true for books that I love or feel deeply for. Case in point, Harry Potter. I started reading the books later than some, mainly because I was over the age of 18 at the time and it wasn’t the “cool” thing to do. But then i started reading them and fell in love with the world that was created.

And then the movies came out. I watched the first one and was annoyed because the Hogwarts in the movie wasn’t like the Hogwarts in my head. But that was ok, because the movie was still cool.

And then the next few movies came out and the books had been longer so the movies had to squeeze more content into the same space. And I get more than annoyed, I was disappointed. Some of my favorite parts were left out!

When the last movie came out I had a friend say that I should watch it, as it had been a while since I’d read the books, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I didn’t want to let go of the fantasy in my head.

There’s another book that’s being made to a movie. “The Hunger Games”, I love that book. The whole series. But, I saw the picture of the person who they got to play Katniss.

She’s blond! Of course they died her hair brown for the movie, but she’s still nothing like I pictured in my head. Makes me sad. Where’s the olive complexion? The thin frame? The hard eyes? Don’t get me started on the other people. As much as I love the books I just don’t think I’m going to be able to bring myself to see the movie.

One response »

Leave a Reply

