Book Review: “The Book Thief”

Standard

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. Every time there is a reason to give gifts my boyfriend gives me books, and jewelry. It’s usually a toss up on what I love the most. The books or the jewelry. Well, this Christmas was no different. I actually got two books. However, the book that I’m reviewing today is not one of these. In fact, the book isn’t even mine. I borrowed it from my boyfriend. He read it and couldn’t stop talking about it. The book that I’m goign to review is “The Book Thief”, by Markus Zusak.

Let me start out by saying that I loved this book. And I want to cry. Both because it’s over, and because of the book itself.

A quick synopsis: Nazi Germany, World War II, Death as a narrator.

I love that death was the narrator of this book. He was all knowing, and at the same time, knew nothing. He gave glimpses of the end, but keeps it maddeningly away.

The book is all about words. The young girl, Liesel, steals them. She gives them. She writes them. She loves them and she hates them. And death picks this up from her.

I know that I should tell you what this book is about, but I can’t. This was a book that touched me, haunts me, makes me want to read it again and throw it against the wall at the same time. This is often the case when I read books set during WWII. The things that went on, they make me want to cry.

This book is told, as I said, by Death. Not the fun death that you might find in a book by Terry Pratchett, but the dark, depressing death that we all meet one day. He talks a lot about death, flitting from scene to scene. At times you forget that its Death talking and then the world comes crashing down around you when he mentions Russia, or the Jews. And you remember that the reason this book grabs you and holds on is because its the story of a young girls struggle to grow up in a world that would just have soon killed her. No, she’s not Jewish, but her parents were communists, and her foster family is hiding a Jew in the basement.

And there are times in the story when I couldn’t put the book down and other times when I couldn’t pick it up. And when the last 100 pages came I was dreading the end. I knew that it would end with me crying, and I did. My heart broke in the last chapter. I wanted to reach threw the pages and time and make everything all better, even though I knew that could never be.

The imagery in the book brings the world to life, you can feel the hunger, the desperation, the cold.

I can’t do it justice. This review is very good. I read it. It’s probably better than mine, but I had to share. i had to get out the pain that i still feel. And how tears prick at my eyes but I smile anyway, because there are somethings that make you stronger, even when death is knocking at the door.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why « studentmamacook

Leave a Reply

