Chili Cheese Hot Dog Macaroni

Standard

So, school is back in for me and the kids. This means that I will again go down to next to no time at all to do things like  cook and write. But that’s ok, because I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeves. I don’t plan on cooking ramin noodles every night but I do plan on cooking a good amount of pasta. It’s quick, it’s easy, and you can do a ton with it and not have to repeat things. This is one of the things that my kids love and is easy to make.

We don’t usually call is “Chili Cheese Hot Dog Macaroni” but it is an accurate description. We just call it chili mac. It’s really simple to make too. And easily adaptable to cook for more or less people, just fry up fewer hotdogs or cook more macaroni. It’s also really good the next day for lunch.

Chili Cheese Hot Dog Macaroni

1 pound small pasta (I prefer small shells, but elbows work as well)
4 to 5 hot dogs sliced thin
1-2 cans of chile (more chile will make it more saucy)
Grated cheddar cheese to taste

  • Cook the pasta according to package directions. I like mine a bit more al dente than most, it reheats better that way without getting mushy. Drain well.
  • While the pasta if cooking, fry up the sliced hot dogs. You don’t need any oil or grease in the pan, most hot dogs are greasy enough without it. I fry them until they get gently browned. They take on a nice almost grilled flavor.
  • Add the chile to the hot dogs and heat through.
  • Mix the chile and hot dogs with the pasta. Serve the pasta topped with the shredded cheese.

If you make this let me know what you think.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dormont Dogs Does Delicious Decidedly Deftly | World (and Lunar) Domination

  2. I’m going to try this for dinner tonight but i’m going to add onions and bacon in it and see how that does….Thank you for the idea!!! Me and my family love hotdogs,chili,cheese and pasta..So here’s a dish all in one 🙂

Leave a Reply

