I Might Not Be Making Cupcakes, But My Kids Are Still Awesome

Standard

Do you ever feel inadequate? I do. A lot. I don’t feel like there is enough time in the day. I worry that I’m not spending enough time with my kids, that my school work is suffering, and I don’t even remember the last time I baked something from scratch. The last one people might laugh at, but for me it’s a big deal. I always wanted to be the mom who had the cookies, who would make the treats for the class party, who would be know for their fresh baked bread. Instead, the most ambitious thing I’ve made lately is jello salad.

And this makes me sad. Why? Because there’s this nifty thing called Pintrest that has popped up and I’ve been seeing all sorts of things that I would love to do. Worse, I’ve been seeing moms who actually seem to have the time/energy/money/drive to do all sorts of cutesy things. They bake, the cook, they sew, the kids in their pictures always have their hair done and clothes that not only match but are the height of fashion. All the pins have to come from somewhere and when I follow them back to the blogs that they come from it makes me want to cry.

But you know what? My kids are happy 9mostly) and Boo is already on B level books in the third month of kindergarten. And Bud has taken an interest in cooking. I’m doing it right, maybe not perfect, but I am doing it. Bud loves to play outside and could care less if his cupcakes are of the Hostess variety.

And, to make myself feel better and prove that I have happy well adjusted kids I’m going to share some pictures, because this is my blog and I love my kids.

This picture was taken with my old phone, though it’s not that old. Only about a month. My son is learning to ride a rip stick. Yes, he’s doing it in his socks. Apparently he can’t feel the board in shoes. Shortly after this picture was taken he fell off and bruised his wrist. He now has a helmet and a full set of body protection (wrists, elbows, knees). He still wont wear shoes.

As I mentioned above, Boo is learning to read. And does she read. She also writes. This amazes me. My new phone (there is a story behind that) has a nifty cool note pad program that came installed (I love my Galaxy S3, even if I live in mortal fear of dropping it on the ground, or in the toilet which was the fate of my last phone) and the kids have been playing with it. Boo has even writen a story I’d like to share. Keep in mind that she is only in her third month of kindergarten.

In case you can’t read kindergarten spelling (just be glad she remembered the spaces, she’s not very good at typing yet) it says “Once upon a time there was a golden meadow. It was sweet. It loved itself. The end.”

Yup. I’ve got awesome kids.

Leave a Reply

