Book Review: “Cupcakes!”

Standard

I love cupcakes. I’ve got a whole Pintrest board dedicated to them. In fact, it was one of my first Pintrest boards that I sat up on my own when I first joined up. At last count there are over 160 cupcakes on my cupcake board. I’ve actually made a few. On this blog I’ve got several cupcake and muffin recipes that I’ve shared. Muffins are a lot like cupcakes most of the time, they usually just lack frosting of some sort. Which is why, when I saw this book on the shelf of my local library I just had to check it out.

cupkakes

“Cupcakes!” by Elinor Klivans was a very promising book. I mean, just look at the picture on the cover. This looks like a book that is devoted to the taste of the cupcake more than the look of what goes on top. There are a lot of books out there that are all about the decoration, but for me, it’s all about the taste. The recipes in this book are sound, near as I can tell. As I’ve said before, I don’t often make the recipes in the cookbooks that I read, I just like to read them for the low-fat version of indulgence. That being said, this book did annoy me just a bit.

I get that a cookbook has to speak to several levels of cook, but the recipes were all basically variations on each other, after reading the introduction and the first one or two recipes, I started to feel as though the author thought the people reading her book were all idiots. Even a novice cook will know how to remove cupcakes from a pan.

The other thing that I wish there were more of in this book were pictures. Cooking is very visual to me. Sure, I can imagine what the recipe is supposed to look like, but a picture makes it just that much better. Sadly, there were very few pictures in this book. The ones that were there looked a bit flat. The frosting looked sticky and unappetizing and quite often too sweet.

Honestly, this wasn’t a bad book, it just wasn’t that great either. I know there are other cupcake books out there, maybe next time I’ll grab one that is more inspiring to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 02/28/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

