Zion

Standard

I do love going out and about with my children. And the area I live in is bursting with fun outdoor activities. Recently I took my kids over to Zion National Park, because I could basically, and enjoyed every minute of it. We went on only one hike, but that was fine. We just enjoyed time together. I also like to write, which isn’t really a surprise considering that I’m writing this now. However, I recently entered a kind of fun writing challenge with a brief entry on my most recent trip to Zion and I thought I’d share that here.

I love the way the sun shines on the red rocks of the valley. I can’t see it from here, but I know that the arch below me is catching the light and highlighting the way the shadows play in it’s depths. As my children run on the rocks a few hundred feet off the ground I try not to look at how close they get to the edge. The fence is only at the flat place between the two sides of the mountain, and even that doesn’t seem like it would stop a six year old running full steam. I take a deep breath and try to find the windows in the side of the mountain near us. I know that tunnel, the number of times I’ve driven through it I should know where all the windows are, but I’m not used to looking at it from this angle and I can only find two of them. It’s getting hot and I want to move to the shade. I look once more at the breathtaking views and call for the children to hurry and take one more picture before we head back to the car.

Leave a Reply

