DONUTS!!!!!

Standard

So, guess what I got for Christmas? Besides books. I got a doughnut maker! I’ve been wanting one since I first saw them. I’ll be honest, I first saw them in the middle of October, but that’s ok. I saw them, I thought they were awesome, I wanted one. I wanted one so bad I kept telling my boyfriend that I wanted one. And when his work had one on sale the day after Thanksgiving I thought for sure he would get me one…then he told me that he’d missed them and that they were out and he hadn’t gotten one. I’d just about given up hope for them, but on Christmas morning there t was, waiting for me under the tree.

This is the one I’ve got:

It’s the one made by Bella Cucina. I really like it. The donuts that it makes are really small, which I like. And there are seven donuts per batch. A good friend got a different brand, the sunbeam one, but I don’t think she’s used it yet. I don’t know how this is. I used this the day after Christmas. My kids loved it. It’s great incentive for my kids to get things done.

I’ve made a few of the recipes in the booklet that came with the donut maker, but I’ll be honest, the original is the one that I like the best. I’ve made variations on that recipe, but, to paraphrase my favorite cooking show, that’s for another post.

Bella Cucina Basic Donut Recipe

1 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
4 tbsp cooking oil

  • Plug in the doughnut maker to heat up, it doesn’t take long, but then, neither does mixing up this batter.
  • Mix together the flour, sugar, and baking soda. Add the egg, milk and vanilla and mix well. Add the oil and then mix until combined.
  • Spoon the batter into a sandwiched sized zip top bag. This makes it easier to put the batter in the molds, and the sandwich sized bags aren’t that expensive. It’ll be full, but it will all fit. Cut a small corner off the bag.
  • Spray the molds very well with cooking spray. They will stick! Lots of cooking spray or oil will help with this.
  • Fill the molds to the top of the plate with batter. If you don’t then they won’t attain doughnut height and shape.
  • Cook until the indicator light goes out, or until mostly golden brown and delicious. Don’t over cook. No one likes burned doughnuts.
  • Cool, or, immediately douse in sugar or cinnamon sugar. You need the doughnuts to be warm for the dousing in granulated sugar because that’s how it sticks (think salt on hot french fries).
  • Eat and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

