52 Questions #6 Love

Standard

February is the month of love. How fitting is it that the first question or the month is about love.

I do not know how either of my grandparent’s met. Not really. But I can share what I do know.

My dad’s parents met after World War II, they were both working in Washington DC, my grandmother worked in the war office. She was older than he was. They got divorced in the 70’s, when California made it easier to get a divorce. I don’t know if their relationship was happy. I know that my grandfather was an alcoholic, and that they lost two children when they were very young.

My mom’s parents, well, that’s a different story. My grandma has been married three times. And has outlived two of those three husbands. Her first husband died in a logging accident, leaving her with two small daughters at home. My grandfather, her second husband, was her first husbands best friend. They had four daughters together and he raised all six as though they were his own, and my grandma’s first husbands parents treated all o the girl as though they were their granddaughters, to the point that I knew my great-grandma as my great-grandma before I even knew that my grandma had a different husband than my grandpa. My grandpa died before my parents got married. He was in his 40’s and died of a heart attack. She’s been married to her third husband now since i was a little girl, probably close to 20 years. He’s been my grandpa almost longer than my dad’s dad who died when I was in high school.

This exercise makes me think that I need to find out, especially from my dad, how his parents met. I’m sure he knows. I’ve just never really asked.

Leave a Reply

